Outdoors and Garden

Jesse and I have lived in apartments for all 6.5 years of our married life. Unfortunately, living in an apartment with only a small balcony does not exactly prepare you for owning 1/2 acre of undeveloped land!

So, although we’ve been working our butts off, there is still a lot to do. Suggestions are appreciated!

Yard 4

My little seedlings were definitely getting too big and needed a home!

Yard 1

I’m one lucky gal! My father in law and Jesse teamed up and made these for me πŸ™‚ The deer netting is finally up, so I was able to plant! As you can see, however, the second garden bed needs more soil before I can plant my squash and zuchinni

Yard 3

Now that my seedlings are gone, my window garden is back to normal. Up on top, I have the 4 herbs we use the most frequently. I also have my lovely yellow Freesia plant!

I found daffodils at our local grocery discount center for $3 each! A steal, especially since I thought I'd only be able to buy bulbs this late in the season

I found daffodils at our local grocery discount center for $3 each! A steal, especially since I thought I’d only be able to buy bulbs this late in the season

I also planted some lavender. I was overjoyed to find that both lavender and daffodils are deer resistent (which is good, considering we have a HERD of deer that think they own our yard).

I also planted some lavender. I was overjoyed to find that both lavender and daffodils are deer resistant (which is good, considering we have a HERD of deer that think they own our yard).

Next, we have some patio furniture! I found adirondack chairs on craigslist for $40. We also have a new table and 4 chairs (although they're not fully painted yet...closeup later).

Next, we have some patio furniture! I found adirondack chairs on craigslist for $40. We also have a new table and 4 chairs that I practically got for free at a garage sale (although they’re not fully painted yet…closeup later). The yellow wrought iron table and chairs will make it Β upstairs onto our master balcony after Anthony’s birthday party

Now for help: I don't know what to do with this area? It's to the right of our main walkway, to the right of my daffodils and lavender. Should I do bushes? Ground cover? Deer resistant flowers? HELP!!

I don’t know what to do with this area? It’s to the right of our main walkway, to the right of my daffodils and lavender. Should I do bushes? Ground cover? Deer resistant flowers? HELP!!

This is the right side of our house as you face it from the front. Eventually this will be the boys' play area, with a picket fence around the perimeter. We have Gregory's (empty) sandbox and his baseball tee so far. Should we add a playground? A water activity table? This area is too shaded to support much of a lawn, so that's out

This is the right side of our house as you face it from the front (for reference, the deck is to the top right, and the daffodils and lavender are directly to the right). Eventually this will be the boys’ play area, with a picket fence around the perimeter. We have Gregory’s (empty) sandbox and his baseball tee so far. Should we add a playground? A water activity table? This area is too shaded to support much of a lawn, so that’s out

Down below at the foot of the second set of deck stairs: we have a pretty good idea of what to do here. Jesse wants to build a paver patio with a rock fire pit and more lounge chairs

Down below at the foot of the second set of deck stairs: we have a pretty good idea of what to do here. Jesse wants to build a paver patio with a rock fire pit and more lounge chairs

Then, we have the master balcony. Unless deer have wings, they shouldn't be able to come up here and get my plants :) To the left is where the yellow table and chairs will go, unless I can think of something better?

Then, we have the master balcony and the view from our bed (I actually took this while sitting on my side!). Unless deer have wings, they shouldn’t be able to come up here and get my plants πŸ™‚ To the left is where the yellow table and chairs will go, unless I can think of something better?

Yard 11

I decided on climbing jasmine because 1). We had this at one of our apartments in Dallas and it’s easy to grow in pots and 2). Because I love the way it smells! We will probably have our doors open quite often during the summer for a cross breeze, and I want to wake up to the smell of jasmine, yes please!

Leave a Reply

