Teeth

I’ve wondered for a while why Gregory only has 5 teeth. Most kids his age have near complete sets!

I’ve also been dreading the “dreadful molars”. It’s made me wonder if the reason he hasn’t ever had any “teething” episodes was due to the fact that all of them have been front teeth thus far. I’ve heard the horror stories of kids waking up screaming at all hours of the night, wandering around the house whining, high fevers…we’ve only given him tylenol once in the last year, and I want to keep it that way as long as possible.

But I did a little investigating as I was brushing his teeth today…4 new teeth coming in, 2 of them, molars! They were already popped out to the point where I was able to make a tapping sound on them with the brush (he loves having that toothbrush in his mouth, so he lets me take my time!).

This is GOOD NEWS, people. We haven’t noticed any unusual fussies– in fact, he’s been in a great mood for the past couple of days! No fever, no waking up in the middle of the night. The closest we came to anything unusual this week was one morning when he woke up at 6:45 instead of his normal 7:30-8am time. And even that was explainable, since Janelle admitted that she and her friend who spent the night had been a little loud as they got ready for school that morning.

There HAS been an excessive amount of drool, but hey, if that’s all we have to go through to get these teeth in, I’ll TAKE it!

Leave a Reply

