Shopping List for G

Since G is getting QUITE active and eating 2-3 solid food meals/day (in addition to full-time nursing every 3 hours– this kid is a bottomless pit!), I’ve been brainstorming/online shopping for a few essentials. I could really use help with some of them, though, from the Mommies who have been there and done that (aka, Courtney, Becks, Beth, Morielle, Steph, Paige).

I just bought two books from half.com, 75 cents each!

Filled with activities for active babies! Color coded by age, up to 1 year old.

More theory than practice, but supposed to help one understand how a baby's mind processes information, in order to tailor your own games/activities

Also needed:

A safety rail for our bed: G co-sleeps with me a lot lately, so much that when we lay him in his crib, he primarily sleeps on his right side, since that’s how he faces me to nurse/sleep! He will even roll around, eyes closed, until he finds something he can snuggle up against while laying on his right side (makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, since he’s obviously looking for me, even in his sleep!).

This one has a little guard on the inside to protect entrapment between the bed and rail

Feeding Utensils: At a complete loss on these. I guess, perhaps, I want too many things, all in one product? I’d like wood, but BPA free plastic would be fine too. I’d also like something dishwasher safe, that ISN’T made of plant fibers with a max. 10 uses! Sorry, that’s random, but there are such products! How do I avoid paying $10/bowl/spoon? We have many Babys R Us and Targets around here, but I’m thinking amazon will have to be the solution…

Currently, I have 3 bowls and 4 spoons, but since G eats around 3 meals a day (and I always mix his fruit or veggie with 3-4 tbsp. of oatmeal, since, you know, he’s ALWAYS HUNGRY!), I’m handwashing constantly. If I forget, the oatmeal gets all crusty. I’d like to have at least 8 bowls and spoons so I can throw them in the dishwasher and not worry about it!

Toys: G is fast outgrowing his exersaucer, and, frankly, now that he’s pretty mobile, I feel bad putting him in it, since it limits his movement. I want him to be building muscles and independence through exploration! I know that babies play with the *oddest* things and are happy, but not many of ours are very child-friendly….

I am very much a fan of wood toys…I still have to post a picture of the awesome, heirloom quality wooden toys that Auntie Autumn had hand-made for lil G! They are incredible!

Also, I greatly prefer fewer toys with better quality. We only have 6-8 toys for him right now, and I’d rather not exceed 20 toys total, at least not this year!

Later tomorrow, I am on my way to buy this from a mom on Craigslist for $20:

 

Also, I have my sights set on the Melissa and Doug Chomp and Clack Push Toy, since so many of you recommended it! But he’s not quite ready for that (although, at this rate, give him a few weeks!).

And, better late than never, I’d like to get him some BPA free stacking cups.

Diapers: Pretty soon, we are going to need the next size up Bummis prefolds! I can tell that G’s gained a lot of weight in the past month– he feels much heavier. His current size of prefold says it goes from 5-20 pounds, but the next size up goes from 15-40. I think we’d be better off in the next size, seeing as I have to double them up now at night to keep leaks from happening! Also, update: the new diaper covers I bought because I was sick of blowouts have been working marvelously! I think the double gussets of Thirsties Duo covers are the bomb.

Alright! Weigh in! I want book, almost-walker toys, feeding supplies etc. recommendations, asap!

8 thoughts on “Shopping List for G

  1. well, no comments on the other stuff but kitchen stuff I can voice in on. =)

    Personally, I’m doing wood (acacia and bamboo utensils and bowls/plates) but I’m used to it. Now, you can put wood in the dishwasher instead of handwashing (not the best, but totally doable); but if you do that, you will have to rub it down with mineral oil or beeswax every couple weeks or so to keep it from getting destroyed. I’ve never microwaved wood come to think of it so you would have to heat things up another way first and then transfer to the plate/bowl. I got ours as a cheese party set and you can get cheap wood bowls/stuff online or from kitchen utensil stores.

    The next best would be glass but I can see the potential issues with that and a child who can grab and throw things…Another option you might want to look at would be stainless steel–super durable, dishwasher safe, and non-toxic. Just make sure you are getting stainless steel not aluminum (yikes!). Though, again, microwave issues…but I seem to recall your baby food is in glass jars, right? You could just heat up in that and transfer to the bowl. *shrug*

    Also, as mentioned above, we just got appetizer sized plates/bowls from normal kitchen stores rather than going to baby stores–same stuff, much, much, much cheaper. =) I mean, basically, you just need smaller things, doesn’t exactly have to say baby on it. Or get stainless steel mixing bowls that are small…I mean, a bowl is a bowl.

    good luck!

  2. I like the Munchkin feeding gear in general. Affordable, BPA-free, dishwasher safe, easily portable, etc. They are available at Target or on Amazon. They’re longer so it’s nice while you’re still feeding G. That said, they were harder for Jackson to master once he started feeding himself.

    I’m 100% for the M&D Alligator Clacker. Jackson LOVED it! He still plays with it at two years, racing around the house, loving those clacks.

    Jackson’s favorite books at G’s age were Jamberry, I Love You, Stinky Face, Little Blue Truck, Won’t You Be My Kissaroo?, but he especially loved Have You Ever Tickled A Tiger? and I Love You Through and Through. Rhyming books are great for that age – and you can’t lose with well done touch-and-feel books.

    A truck of some sort is good – and has longevity on it’s side. Jackson got his on his first birthday, but still plays with them. He got a yellow CAT one, but this one’s way cuter:

    That’s all I got off the top of my head. I’ll keep thinking 🙂

  3. Beth, that dump truck is toooo cute! A must have, for sure!

    Chels, I heard mineral oil isn’t good for babies, but even so, it sounds labor intensive…they have BPA plastic stuff, I’m just not sure I like it!

  4. Christina, that ecotoytown site has tons of fun stuff! The duck duck green is too expensive…I want at least 8 of them! It gets tiring, having to wash dishes with one hand while you have a hungry baby in the other!

    For spoons and bowls, I went with Green Toys BPA free recycled bowls and spoons (ordered straight from the Green Toys website, since it’s cheaper than Amazon). They are dishwasher safe, so yippee!! One less chore around here! If I’m gonna handwash stuff, I might as well keep reusing the 3-4 bowls/spoons I already have. It’s what a dishwasher is for, ya know?

  5. Jackson also really liked his pull-toy lion that vibrated. Infantino makes “jittery pals” and Gund Baby some cute ones also. Just an afterthought…

  6. So, a little late on the reply… but I can’t tell you how much I love the ladies at safemama.com for this very reason: http://safemama.com/2008/10/06/safer-bpa-free-dishware/
    (Definitely worth checking out their other cheat-sheets too- sippy cup to wipes to sunscreen)

    Also, our favorite books are still (almost 3 years later) the Bear Books by Karma Wilson (Bear Wants More, Bear Snores On, etc)

    Toys we still love? Trucks. Lots and lots of trucks. Especially these ones: (despite the fact that I loathe matchbox-y cars, he prefers these to all the wood ones, 10 to 1) http://www.amazon.com/Hot-Wheels-Monster-Tredz-AVENGER/dp/B002MRDTAM/ref=sr_1_1?s=toys-and-games&ie=UTF8&qid=1316152257&sr=1-1
    You give them a little push forward (not backward like most trucks, which makes no sense to toddlers) and they will climb over stack of books, flip over, and keep going on two wheels. Seriously, I can’t deny how fun they are. We have 3 of them since learning to share such a cool toy just wasn’t happening.

    Generally, I love all wood toys, and Plan toys has some fabulous stuff. They are hands down my favorite toy company.

Leave a comment