Imelda Marcos

Jesse has a TON of shoes.

Tonight, as we were brainstorming options for storage if we move to a smaller place next year, I said that he would have to whittle down his “collection”.

“You’re like Imelda Marcos,” I said.

“Who’s that?” he asked.

“You don’t know who Imelda Marcos is?” I gasped, mock incredulous.

“No…do you?”

I had no clue. It’s always something my mom used to call me as a child when going through my shoes. I figured everyone from the 80’s knew who she was. My mom used to call me “Cousin Itt”, and everyone knows who that is. I’m sure you have “The Adams Family!” re-runs playing in your head as we speak.

So, after 25 years of using her name as a figure of speech, I finally Wikipedia’d “Imelda Marcos”.

Imelda R. Marcos (born Imelda Remedios Visitacion Romualdez on July 2, 1929) is a Filipino politician and wife of 10th Philippine President Ferdinand Marcos. Upon the ascension of her husband to political power, she held various positions to the government until 1986. She is the first politician elected as member of the Philippine legislature in three geographical locations (ManilaLeyteIlocos Norte). In 2010, she was elected to become a member of the House of Representatives to represent Ilocos Norte‘s second district. She is sometimes referred to as the Steel Butterfly or the Iron Butterfly.[1][2] She is often remembered for symbols of the extravagance of her husband’s political reign such as her collection of 2700 pairs of shoes.[3]

Seriously, was anyone else aware of this person? And mom, how on earth???

2 thoughts on “Imelda Marcos

  1. Anyone alive in the 80’s rememebers Imelda. People living in prehistoric conditions while she’s feeding her fashion jones. Does Jesse prefer pumps or stillettos?

Leave a Reply

